Johnson left red faced after practice swing gaffe

Zach Johnson accidentally hits ball during practice swingMore

Zach Johnson accidentally hits ball during practice swingMore

Zach Johnson, a two-time major victor who won the green jacket in 2007, just shanked a shot at the par-5 13th.

The key reason that Johnson's mishit didn't count as a stroke comes down to two things - the contact was unintentional, and the ball was not yet in play.

While on the 13th tee on Friday at the Masters, Zach Johnson accidentally hit his ball on a practice swing. As Johnson steps forward to take his practice swing, he accidentally connects with the ball, sending it straight into the adjacent tee marker. Under USGA rules, Johnson was allowed to re-tee without penalty because it was not intentional.

"I can't think of a time I've done it - not on goal", Johnson said of hitting the ball during a practice swing.

Had that happened not on the tee box, Johnson would have incurred a penalty.

Quinton de Kock demolition not enough for Mumbai Indians
Needing 41 runs from 41 balls, Rajasthan slipped to 174-6, with England batsman Liam Livingstone making just one on his IPL debut. With the required run-rate over nine right from the offset, Buttler and Ajinkya Rahane put on 60 for the opening wicket.

Only Johnson's pride was hurt because he was allowed to re-tee the ball without penalty because he had not meant to move it.

After 13 holes of play, Johnson now sits at one-under for the day and one-over for the tournament.

Johnson re-teed and ripped one down the middle, then hit his second to 30 feet and two-putted for birdie to get to one under on his round and one over for the tournament, putting him firmly inside the cut line for the time being. "I don't think I could do it again if I tried".

Johnson, playing with Phil Mickelson and Matt Kuchar, told the golfers they could laugh at his mistake. The 2007 Masters champ bounced back in the early going on his second round, moving to one-over par on several occasions.

Latest News